Indian National Congress

Indian National Congress - An Introduction

The Indian National Congress which is the oldest Indian political party was established in 1885. The Indian National Congress or INC played a major role in the independence of India. Even after independence the party held power for most of the years.
Indian National Congress Political Family
The Indian National Congress which is currently under the leadership of Sonia Gandhi is carrying the legacy of the first political family of India. The dynasty began with Jawaharlal Nehru who was the first Prime Minister of India. His daughter Indira Gandhi, became the natural heir after him. After her assassination in 1984, Rajiv Gandhi took over. After his tragic death, Congress was headed by PV Narasimha Rao in 1991, who did not belong to the family. After he was faced with corruption charges, Mrs. Sonia Gandhi entered the INC in 1999.

INC- Government of India

The Indian National Congress won the 2004 general elections beating National Democratic Alliance led by Atal Behari Vajpayee. The United Progressive Alliance led by Congress Sonia Gandhi nominated Sonia Gandhi for the post of the next Prime Minister. However, she requested Dr. Manmohan Singh - former Union Finance Minister and senior Congress leader to take hold and on 22 May 2004 he was sworn in as the Prime Minister of India.
History of the Indian National Congress
The history of the Indian National Congress can be categorized into 2 eras:

  • Pre-independence era - The INC stayed at the forefront and fought for India's struggle for independence.
  • Post-independence era - In Indian politics, the party has always enjoyed a prominent position. Out of the 60 years since independence, the INC has been in power for 48 years.

Founders of Indian National Congress

  • Umesh Chandra Banerjee
  • Surendranath Banerjee
  • Man Mohan Ghosh
  • Allan Octavian Hume
  • William Wedderburn
  • Dadabhai Naoroji
  • Dinshaw Wacha

Indian Prime Ministers from INC

  • Manmohan Singh (from 2004 to present)
  • P.V. Narasimha Rao (from 1991 to 1996)
  • Rajiv Gandhi (from 1984 to 1989)
  • Indira Gandhi (from 1966 to 1977 and again from 1980 to 1984)
  • Lal Bahadur Shastri (from 1964 to 1966)
  • Gulzarilal Nanda (from May to June1964, January 1966)
  • Jawaharlal Nehru (from 1947 to 1964)